benchmarkingblog

Elisabeth Stahl on Benchmarking and IT Optimization

What’s In Your Bag?

leave a comment »

With summer just beginning in this part of the world, vacations are on everyone’s mind. And for me, that means hiking.

I actually have a list of everything that should go into my hiking knapsack. It’s written on a scrap of an old envelope and was first used prior to my going up Mount Washington. Here’s what’s on it:

  1. The Electronics: compass, map, phone, headlamp
  2. The Emergency Food: trail mix and granola bars, extra water
  3. The Moleskin: for my big right toe
  4. The Defense: bear spray and pocket knife
  5. The Sweater: my old gray cashmere with the big holes
  6. The Support: my hiking poles
  7. Just In Case: bug net, bandages, extra wool socks, hat, gloves, rain pants and long underwear
  8. If I Get in Trouble: whistle and waterproof matches
  9. The Drug of Choice: Motrin — for my back
  10. May be needed at the end: After Bite and the hot tub

Without these, I’d be lost. Literally. Maybe even worse.

And I was reminded the other day that the same type of preparation I use for my hiking trips is imperative when preparing my laptop bag for a business meeting.

And I realized that in the end I bring pretty much the same stuff.

  1. The Electronics: chargers, pointers, batteries
  2. The Emergency Food: cereal bars and pretzels, in case they don’t feed you
  3. The Moleskin: calendar that is – to schedule the next meeting
  4. The Defense: quick wit and verbal barbs
  5. The Sweater: my nice black cashmere, for when the air conditioning blows
  6. The Support: list of other subject matter experts
  7. Just In Case: the cheat sheet with the latest POWER8 news, the titles of who will be at the meeting, and the fun-to-read magazine because you never know when you are going to have to wait
  8. If I Get in Trouble: AAA or American Express Travel
  9. The Drug of Choice: Motrin — for my head
  10. May be needed at the end: drink in the hot tub

************************************************

The postings on this site solely reflect the personal views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views, positions, strategies or opinions of IBM or IBM management.

technorati tags: , , ,,,,

Written by benchmarkingblog

June 25, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

