benchmarkingblog

Elisabeth Stahl on Benchmarking and IT Optimization

You’ve Got Mail, Weird Mail from Oracle

leave a comment »

This morning I received an email from Oracle. Not surprising since I signed up to get some of their communications a few years ago. What surprised me is what the email contained.

  • First of all, the email was addressed to “Elis”. Now I have gone by many nicknames in my past, but never “Elis”. I can only guess that for some reason Oracle’s programs can not handle the 9 characters in my first name and truncate to 4. Doesn’t give me much confidence in a software company that specializes in data.
  • The second part of the email to catch my eye was the picture displayed in the center. Not a cool logo, not a detailed shot of the hardware, but a picture of Larry talking.
  • Finally, and here is the clincher, the email focused on an announcement of a new system. At first I got all excited, what could this one possibly be. And then I read the details. The announcement cited in the letter dated today was actually from back in September 2011, almost 1 full year ago. And I have to ask, is that the best you can do Oracle, is there not anything else more recent than almost a year ago worth having me look at?

 

After I read the note, I decided not to delete it because I enjoyed it so much. And I had to ask myself — Was this even a true communication from Oracle or someone spamming a little fun here?

************************************************

The postings on this site solely reflect the personal views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views, positions, strategies or opinions of IBM or IBM management.

technorati tags: , , ,,,,,,,,,

,,,

Written by benchmarkingblog

July 11, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Posted in announcement, Oracle, SPARC T4

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

