benchmarkingblog

Elisabeth Stahl on Benchmarking and IT Optimization

The “Look what we got!” email

with one comment

Yesterday morning at 7AM I received an email from the unlikeliest of sources. My mother.

You may wonder why receiving an email from my mother would be unusual. The startling fact is: My mother had never owned a computer before.

My mother does everything at the mall. My mother shops, of course, at the mall. My mother eats at the mall. My mother even exercises at the mall (when the weather is bad).

So my mother went out the other day and bought a computer at the mall. She bought a printer at the mall. She even bought internet access at the mall.

My mother talks about “apps” now. She talks “wireless.” She emails at 7AM.

My mother is for this week only at the very forefront of technology. When I called her yesterday she said that her icons were doing something funny. Luckily, my mother also bought a support contract at the mall — so if she has operational problems or even performance challenges, at least she won’t be calling me.

“Sent from my iPad” next to my mother’s name. Still not computing. In her words, “We have joined the 21st century. I hope we can figure this thing out.”

___________________________________________________________

The postings on this site solely reflect the personal views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views, positions, strategies or opinions of IBM or IBM management.

technorati tags: , , , , ,

Written by benchmarkingblog

February 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Posted in iPad

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, Elisabeth, I envy you for having such a modern mother! I wish my mother would take that step and leapfrog into the 21st century… It would make life so much easier, it would make communication so much easier, we could even start thinking about adaptations to the house by which we could monitor her situation and wellbeing… I am glas you posted this and I will talk to my mother about it. Thanks

    LYdia Duijvestijn

    February 18, 2012 at 9:48 am


Leave a Reply

