benchmarkingblog

Benchmarking and Systems Performance

On Investing in the Cloud

leave a comment »

It’s 7AM on a weekday morning and I’m in the middle of nowhere in the middle of Ohio. And as I drive by the faded barns, the cattle, and the one town with the giant McDonald’s and the adult bookstore, I start to laugh.

I’m alone in the car. I’m supposed to be thinking deep thoughts about what I will discuss at a client meeting in an hour or two. I don’t even let myself listen to music in case it distracts me. But I can’t keep from cracking up.

You see, it’s a billboard. Specifically the words on the billboard. An advertisement for a store. And not just any store. This is for, of all things, Grandpa’s Cheesebarn.

I don’t know why it’s so funny. It reminds me of my grandpa in a plaid robe and slippers. Maybe even eating cheese. Or smelling like cheese. In a barn. (disclosure – It actually looks like a great place to buy many cool foods and I promise to stop there next time.)

Anyway, the name is really really really funny.

Which reminded me of an article I read this morning on an investment manager’s thoughts on cloud computing.

Here’s the reality and what, of course, all of us who are actually in IT already know:

  • Private, public, and hybrid clouds all have their places. Some applications are best in an organization’s private cloud. Sometimes applications do well in a public cloud. And sometimes hybrids are the perfect solution.
  • Best fit for these options depends on many things including security, reliability, availability, performance.
  • Guess what ? Clouds are actually backed by something real — called servers.
  • IBM and other IT companies offer many products and services. Hardware is one piece. Software is another. Complex transformation services are another. All are valuable in their own way and integrate to make IT solutions for clients that end up running important businesses for all of us.

 

This morning I realized that taking advice from an investment manager on cloud computing is like trying to get an oil change at Grandpa’s Cheesebarn. You just shouldn’t.

************************************************
The postings on this site solely reflect the personal views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views, positions, strategies or opinions of IBM or IBM management.

technorati tags: , , ,,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,

Written by benchmarkingblog

April 23, 2013 at 11:49 am

Posted in Cloud

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

