benchmarkingblog

Benchmarking and Systems Performance

Smarter Storage, Awesome Efficiency

leave a comment »

So I’m in the middle, once again, of planning a summer vacation. If only I had no constraints on funding — I would then take a plane any day and any time that I really wanted to. And I could leave from the airport that is actually near where I live. And not over an hour away. Oh, I forgot — I could actually buy the plane and a pilot.

I would stay at the super fancy grand hotel in the grandest of suites, and not the poor stepsister motel down the road with the jacuzzi that foams dirt. I would have dinner in the grand dining room of the aforementioned grand hotel – and I wouldn’t worry about the dress code because I wouldn’t have to.

With no constraints, you can certainly do amazing things. But the important point here is what you can accomplish with constraints. With limited funds. With greater efficiency.

And that’s where today’s IBM announcement of Smarter Storage comes in. Take a look at What’s New including IBM Storwize V7000 and SAN Volume Controller (SVC) Real-time Compression and the IBM Tivoli Storage Productivity Center. Watch a video of a really awesome performance story. My favorite part of the announcement is this: You can get 3x the performance improvement with only 3% SSDs.

A 3 year old can swamp a configuration with SSDs and get better performance. The IBM Smarter Storage way is a more efficient, automated and intelligent approach to storage. Efficient by design, Self-optimizing, and Cloud agile.

************************************************

The postings on this site solely reflect the personal views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views, positions, strategies or opinions of IBM or IBM management.

technorati tags: , , , , ,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,

,,

Written by benchmarkingblog

June 4, 2012 at 9:17 am

Posted in announcement, SSD, storage, Storwize

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

