benchmarkingblog

Benchmarking and Systems Performance

Old Hardware, Older Benchmarks

leave a comment »

I spent most of this past weekend looking at hardware.

Hardware on furniture, that is. Specifically, drawer pull hardware on furniture. And when it comes to drawer pull hardware on furniture, I like old. I looked at silver, satin nickel, flat black, even something called brushed English gold — but nothing could beat the old antique look of oil rubbed bronze.

With technology, of course, that’s a different story. But you would never know that with some of the news going around lately.

Oracle just published an M9000 with 11g result on the SAP Assemble-to-Order (ATO) Standard Application Benchmark. When I first read the press release, I thought – this result surely must be impressive – it is “record-breaking,” “highest score ever posted,” “beats all.” And then I started thinking. When was the last time I had seen a result on this benchmark? When was the last time I had heard anyone even talking about this benchmark? I know that I used to include it in some of my charts – but all I could remember was that that was when I lived in my old house.

I checked the SAP site and saw that Fujitsu had published a couple of results, the most recent results —- in 2003.

The only thing possibly more dated in technology this week than Oracle’s benchmark is HP’s Anniversary Calculator.

************************************************

(1)Two-tier SAP ATO standard application benchmark (SPARC Enterprise M9000 Server, 64 processors, 3.0 GHz, 256 cores and 512 threads running Oracle Database 11g Release 2 and Oracle Solaris 10) 206,360 fully business processed assembly orders per hour. Certification number 2011033.

Source: http://www.sap.com/benchmark. Results current as of 9/6/11.

SAP, mySAP and other SAP product and service names mentioned herein as well as their respective
logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of SAP AG in Germany and in several other countries all
over the world.

Oracle and Java are registered trademarks of Oracle and/or its affiliates.

The postings on this site solely reflect the personal views of the author and do not necessarily represent the views, positions, strategies or opinions of IBM or IBM management.

technorati tags: , , , , ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Written by benchmarkingblog

September 6, 2011 at 11:26 am

Posted in M9000, Oracle, SAP

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

